Falsification of seller's statement to dealer.
Utah Code § 76-6-1408
in effect76-6-1408. Falsification of seller's statement to dealer.
(1) Terms defined in Sections 76-1-101.5 and 76-6-1402 apply to this section.
(2) An actor commits falsification of seller's statement to dealer if the actor:
(a) sells, offers to sell, or attempts to sell regulated metal; and
(b) in providing information required by Section 76-6-1403, 76-6-1405, or 76-6-1406 willfully makes a false statement or provides any untrue information.
(3)
(a)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), a violation of Subsection (2) is a class B misdemeanor.
(ii) An actor who is convicted of a class B misdemeanor under this section is subject to a mandatory fine of no less than $1,000.
(b)
(i) A violation of Subsection (2) is a class A misdemeanor if the actor previously has been convicted of a violation of this section.
(ii) An actor who is convicted of a class A misdemeanor under this section is subject to a mandatory fine of no less than $2,500.
Amended by Chapter 111, 2023 General Session
Source: Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel (le.utah.gov)URL: https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter6/76-6-S1408.html?v=C76-6-S1408_2023050320230503Fetched: 10/26/2026
